5 LGBTQ+ Short Films You Need To See

One of my favourite things to do is watch LGBTQ+ short films on YouTube or else where online, because when I feel really uncomfortable with my sexuality – not as often any more thankfully – sometimes I really do just need that. Feeling comfortable with who you are is really important, so if your having one of them ‘I’m going to hell and I’m an unnatural freak’ days (which does happen, and what you are telling yourself them days isn’t true), then sit down and watch a few!

(The order is completely unrelated – it’s just whatever order I remember the best ones in)

1. We Will

 My all time favourite short film is called ‘We Will’. It’s such an adorable feel-good video, and is so so so helpful when I’m feeling bad about being a lesbian. I mean.. Look how cute they are!

Awwwwww. They are so cute I can’t even. 

If memory serves me right, this was filmed to promote same sex marriage in Australia, and OK I am not even joking this video is so perfect. It’s just so well made with good sound and is only four minutes long and is just so beautiful. It’s one of the few things that actually make me proud to be gay.

2. James

Quite a famous one, but still really interesting. It’s set up in Northern Ireland so that’s probably why it took so much of my attention, but it actually tackles the homophobia in a place other than Texas.which is always nice. It’s about 20 minutes long, and I didn’t really like the ending. Its also not really a feel good so stay away if you don’t want to be all sad and feely.

3. Tonight It’s You
One word: CREEPY. It’s not really a feel-good, so if your looking to feel more comfortable stay well clear of this one. But if your looking for a gay horror WELCOME. You have found exactly what you are looking for! I don’t want to give the plot away as these are just recommendations, but if you want to wet yourself because the man that the main character just slept with has turned into a demon then you are in luck! I’m pretty sure its 17(?) minutes longs, so it’s pretty long for my taste, but its not a waste of time.

4. Love is all you need?
Set in an alternate universe where gay is the norm, and heterosexuals are frowned upon, this short film caught my attention. I don’t think my introduction was actually that accurate, as this isn’t actually that feel-happy-inside at all and you’ll probably end up crying your eyes out, but it was definitely worth a mention. Sad, yet really eye opening. I’d recommend this one to anyone looking for something a little sad, but not in a way that’s just sad. Trigger warning! (Also spolier alert) does contain themes of bullying and violence, and ends in a suicide, so if that stuff upsets you then stay well away from this one.

5. Boy

A kind of sad story about a trans boy, but (from memory) I’m pretty sure it ends well. Also I’m pretty sure it’s in Spanish, and I can’t find a dub, so if you don’t like subtitles, this one probably ain’t for you. Its actually one of the more powerful ones, and isn’t really jokey at all, so if you’re looking for heavy heart cry-worthy short films, then HELLO! 

There you go! Five LGBT shorts you can find on YouTube! I’d love to hear your thoughts about each one, so feel free to comment below. Thanks for reading!

This is EggyBlogs

Leave a Reply

